african, art, poetry

Battle Hymn of Tahtahme

image

Must climb the mass of spikes and stones
Littering the road that I walk on.
My comrades are angered and we are armed–
I lead the march cuz I am the harm.
No matter what appears, I march on….
And on and on,
Keep moving on.
We all know sad news is never gone…

None can touch me–I’m invincible.
It’s not only reality–it’s the principle.
I lead this group, you may call me Constable.

Faith is not an option, it is requirement.
I run to the comforting sound of what love meant.

I am not scared–that’s not faith, so,
I keep fear at bay wherever I go.

I like my own tune, so I’ll maintain what I’ve said
For I march to the sound of the drums in my head.

Some drums boom, others just tat.
How could I not know the sound of that?
It’s the sound of justice when the soul calls to move–
The sound of my heart when strong words speak the truth.
It’s the sound of a gun before a life dies,
The echo of the brain when the mouth tells lies.
I listen, hope, live for it
If others could hear, they would try for it.

My fighting doesn’t end with someone else wronged,
But someday in the future when we all get along…

2006

3 thoughts on “Battle Hymn of Tahtahme”

  1. “None can touch me–I’m invincible.
    It’s not only reality–it’s the principle.
    I lead this group, you may call me Constable.

    Faith is not an option, it is requirement.
    I run to the comforting sound of what love meant.

    I am not scared–that’s not faith, so,
    I keep fear at bay wherever I go”
    That’s powerful right there! Look at you Tahtahme! Do your thing girl!lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Really?? Way back then! I guess you were always a talented writer then. Sometimes it takes time to perfect your craft. But yeah,I felt you on that. Good stuff!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment